Columbus DUI Defense Attorney
Accused of OVI or DUI? Get the defense you need today!
Have you been arrested for Operating under the Influence (OVI) or Driving Under the Influence (DUI) charges? According to Ohio Revised Code §4511.19, anyone who is found to be operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs while on a public roadway, could be convicted of OVI.
|1st Offense||2nd offense||3rd Offense||4th Offense|
|Jail||3 days to 6 months||10 days to 1 year||30 days to 1 year||60 days to 1 year|
|Fines and Penalties||$250 to $1,000||$350 to $1,500||$350 to $1,500||$800 to $10,000|
|License Suspension||6 months to 3 years||1 to 5 years||1 to 10 years||3 years to permanent|
The legal limit for drinking and driving in every U.S. state is 0.08%. Also known as blood alcohol concentration or blood alcohol level, the blood alcohol content (BAC) is measured by chemical testing.
If you were arrested and charged with drunk driving in Columbus or elsewhere in Ohio, call (614) 285-5291 today to speak with Columbus DUI Lawyer about your defense options.
There are two major types of chemical tests:
- Breath tests – Breathalyzer devices
- Blood sample – analyzed in a lab
A police officer in some circumstances may also administer a urine test.
The offense level of an OVI is, in part, graduated based on the number and type of previous OVI convictions within a specified period of time. For those with one or two misdemeanor OVI convictions in the past six years, the offense is a first-degree misdemeanor. R.C. 4511.19(G)(1)(b) and (c). For those with three or four misdemeanor OVI convictions in the past six years and those with five or more misdemeanor OVI convictions in the past 20 years, the offense is a fourth-degree felony. R.C. 4511.19(G)(1)(d). For an offender with one or more previous felony-level OVI convictions (regardless of when the violation or violations occurred), an OVI offense is a third-degree felony.R.C. 4511.19(G)(1)(e).
The penalty for an OVI offense is also graduated based on the number and type of previous OVI convictions. Within the category of misdemeanor-level repeat OVI offenders, an OVI offender with one previous OVI offense in the past six years faces a maximum of six months in jail, R.C. 4511.19(G)(1)(b)(i), while an offender with two previous OVI offenses in the past six years faces a maximum of one year in jail, R.C. 4511.19(G)(1)(c)(i). For all fourth-degree-felony OVI offenses, the base maximum term of imprisonment is 30 months plus either 60 or 120 days. R.C. 4511.19(G)(1)(d)(i) and (ii). A third-degree-felony OVI offender faces a base maximum term of 36 months plus 60 or 120 days in prison. R.C. 4511.19(G)(1)(e)(i) and (ii)